The Eight of Hearts

Number 21 – Give Blood (Eight of hearts) – Monday 26th September 2016

**DISCLAIMER – There are one or two pictures below of me giving blood, so if you don’t want to see these then don’t scroll down!**

I told you this was taking on a life of its own! After running the 10k, I got home and decided to look into giving blood.  I had heard that normally you have to sign up like a month to 6 weeks in advance so I thought I would be able to set that as November’s entry. Anyway, once I had registered all my details, a notification came up saying that there was a chance to give blood at a local centre the next day.  All appointments were full, but they could maybe accept walk ins.  It seemed like an opportunity, so I decided to take it (more on opportunities in a moment).

I arrived at the centre at 2pm today fresh faced, but a little nervous; I’d never given blood before, so was a little unsure of what to expect.  Anyway, we went through the whole process of a health check etc. and I was able to give blood!  There’s not much more to it than that, and I’m sure a lot of you have already given blood, so I won’t bore you with the details.

The reason for this being on the list should be a straightforward one.  It’s something I have always wanted to do and just never got around to; like so many things, we are always ‘getting around to them’ and we never actually get to them because life throws something in the way.  I’m not overly keen on needles, but was surprised with how OK I was with the process, and by doing this I may potentially have saved someone’s life in the future.  Obviously I will never know that, but for the sake of an hour out of my life, I may have done some good.  It is something I will do again and is such an easy process that if you have been ‘getting around to it’, then please go and book it now.  For those of you that already do, I take my hat off to you; you may actually have saved somebody’s life.  That is insane!

I mentioned earlier about opportunities.  I know I am very early into this process and it is still pretty strange to me, but I am already noticing so many opportunities that were probably there before and I just didn’t notice.  By allowing myself to see these opportunities, and be open to them, I am quite astonished and humbled by the amount of opportunities that present themselves.  If you’ve ever watched ‘The Experiments’ by Derren Brown, you might be familiar with the episode on the lucky dog of Todmorden.  During the episode, a butcher called Wayne is introduced.  He considers himself the epitome of unlucky, and throughout the episode misses so many opportunities simply because he doesn’t see them; he isn’t open to them.  What opportunities have you missed recently just because you weren’t open to them?  What opportunities are there right now that you aren’t seeing?  Don’t let life pass you by.  Say yes. Whatever it is, give it a go.  Yes, it might fail completely, but you miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.  Embrace the failures, celebrate them.  It’s the only route to success.

The eight of hearts is complete.  Until next time,

Scott Olgard

Leave a Reply

