Moving back and Moving on – November/December 2016

This is where things get real.  If you have read my Apocalyst at all (and if not, why not?!) you will surely have noticed that quite a lot of my entries involve some aspect of travelling.  Truthfully, the first thing on my Apocalyst and something that I have wanted to do since I was 8 years old is live in Japan.  The culture, the history, everything about Japan has always intrigued me and when all of this began it was one of the first things I begun planning.  However moving country and leaving everything behind is a big step and something that wasn’t achievable overnight.  So for the past few months, I have been busy planning how to get there, what I needed to do and what arrangements I needed to make.  It’s safe to say that the Apocalyst is changing my life; I handed my notice in on my job, and tomorrow (16th December 2016) will be my last day as a teacher; I booked a one way flight to Thailand; but perhaps most significant at the moment is that I handed notice in on my house and on the 28th November moved back in with the momma bear.

On the surface, it was the practical thing to do; save some rent money, and also my mum will be away over Christmas so it’s a free house. But anybody who has moved back in with parents after living alone for a significant amount of time will understand that the transition isn’t always the easiest.  Don’t get me wrong, my mum and step dad are amazing, and completely welcoming and accommodating, but moving house is stressful at the best of times!  Perhaps the strangest part of this is that it isn’t really moving house; I’ve sold a lot of my furniture and belongings because there simply isn’t room to store them.  At first I tried to find ingenious ways to keep my furniture, palming it off to various friends and family whilst I was away, but slowly I began to realise that at the end of the day, it was just ‘stuff’.  That wardrobe or sofa doesn’t hold any sentimental value to me and at the end of the day it’s just more clutter.  I want to streamline my life and only keep the things that add to it, so the furniture had to go. But it is a strange process.  There is a scene in Fight Club where Tyler Durden is talking to ‘Jack’ about the sentimentality we attach to mindless pieces of furniture, saying something along the lines of, “you buy this coffee table and you think it somehow adds to your life, like no matter what happens in my life, I have that coffee table problem sorted.” It’s something we all do, and it’s a hard mentality to shake, but it’s changing.

The other struggle is not having your own space.  Again this is nothing to do with my mum or step dad, but it’s strange living under someone else’s roof after living on your own for so long.  You have to be respectful of their way of doing things and their traditions, learning where everything goes and how things are done again.  And having to wear pants! But we’ll get there!

I think I’ve been pretty awful recently with keeping up to the blog, but as I say, there has been lots going on in the background.  Next Week I’m driving down to London to finish sorting out my Japanese working Visa, before enjoying a little down time over Christmas.  I fly to Thailand on the 16th January, and will be travelling through Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Bali and Borneo.  This will tick off a good few things from the list.   Then I am aiming to get to Japan at the beginning of March and find somewhere to live and work, hopefully teaching, but maybe doing something else. I imagine I will be in Japan for a few months, and then I am thinking of moving on to somewhere else.  More on that in the future though…!

I do keep going through different emotions.  One moment I’m super happy and excited: this is the adventure of a lifetime, something I’ve been looking forward to for so long;  the next moment I’m terrified as it’s a pretty daunting and huge project.  I think the main worry though is leaving people behind.  I have a lot of people in my life that I’m very close to, and I have no idea how I’m going to cope without certain people.  The last 12 months have been an absolute roller coaster and so much has changed in my life; things happen and people walk into your life when you least expect it and if this year has taught me anything it’s that there is no blueprint for life.  You can’t plan anything, you just have to live each day to its fullest, make every moment count.  I have so much to be thankful for, and although leaving might be hard, it isn’t goodbye, it’s just a ‘see you soon’.  You’re all invited to come see me whenever you want, let’s party in Tokyo!

This is where things get real.  By the end of tomorrow I will officially be homeless and unemployed: a total bum!  So if I am a little quiet don’t lose faith, the Apocalyst is real, and is happening every day.

Carpe That Diem!

20161204_194801

One thought on “Moving back and Moving on – November/December 2016

Leave a Reply

